About the BEAC

The BEAC was established on 11 January, 1993 in Kirkenes during the meeting of the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of Russia, Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Finland, Sweden, as well as the representative of the European Commission.

The supreme body of the Council is the Ministerial session which is held every two years. At the Ministerial session the Chairmanship rotates between Norway, Finland, Russia and Sweden.

The BEAC permanent coordination body, responsible for current activities of the Council and its working groups is the Committee of Senior Officials (CSO), which consists of representatives of MFA of the member states.

Besides the BEAC, the cooperation in the Barents region is carried out through direct contacts between the counties or their equivalents in Russia, Finland, Norway and Sweden. At the Session in Kirkines in January 1993 they established the Barents Regional Council (BRC). The Chair of the BRC in 2015 – 2017 is Kainuu region (Finland). 

Practical cooperation in the Barents region takes place in 15 working groups which are intergovernmental,  regional and joint working groups. 

Independent Working Group on Indigenous Peoples, which has the status of permanent observer of the BEAC, closely cooperates both with the BEAC and the BRC.

Members of the BEAC:
Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, the EU

Observers of the BEAC:
Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Poland, UK, USA

Members of the BRC:
in Finland: Kainuu, Lapland, North Karelia, Oulu Region
in Norway: Finnmark, Nordland, Troms
in Russia: Arkhangelsk Oblast, Republic of Karelia, Komi Republic, Murmansk Oblast, Nenets Autonomous Okrug
in Sweden: Norrbotten, Västerbotten